Vegan

Fried polenta – basic recipe, ideas and inspiration 

Something about fried food is just so appealing occasionally, and there is something about the look of fried polenta that appeals to me. Is it the resemblance to stuff that’s bad for you like chips or fried batter? I’m not sure but I wanted to give it a go and it’s been feeding me for about three days and counting so far! Seriously, one batch makes A Lot!

I have fried it in olive oil, coconut oil and rapeseed oil and olive oil was my favourite, but you know, we are all different! I also had an unfried slab of it with my breakfast the day I first made it to see how it was. Bland, is all I’ll say. I can see how it would work as a mashed potato alternative though, I reckon it would be nice with some flavourings added, maybe some herbs and spices or garlic and something cheesy, so I’ll be experimenting when I make it again. Frying it gives it a bit of a new lease of life and I’ve had it with a variety of accompaniments which I’ve added below.

So to make my polenta I followed a basic recipe from here. I’ve added the metric measurements below:

Basic Polenta:

3 cups / 265g dried polenta

6 cups / 1410ml water

2 tsp salt

3 tbsp unsalted butter (I used vitalite to be vegan friendly)

Bring the water to a boil in a heavy large saucepan. Add 2 teaspoons of salt. Gradually whisk in the polents. Reduce the heat to low and cook until the mixture thickens and the polenta is tender, stirring often, about 15 minutes. Turn off the heat. Add the butter, and stir until melted.

Then spread the mix out into a large plastic dish and leave to cool. Once set, I sliced it into vague rectangles and set about eating it! Some of the accompaniments are homemade, including mango salsa, hummus and the smoked tomato sauce, I will get recipes up for these soon. 

Polenta with smoked tomato sauce and mango salsa
Fried polenta with homemade hummus, mango salsa, vegan feta and beetroot
Fried polenta with vegan mayo alternative
I would definitely make this again and think it could be quite versatile as an ingredient. Next I think I’m going to slice it up into cubes and used it in salads like a crouton alternative! And I’m wondering about a potato scone style fritter type of thing. Let me know what you’ve used polenta for and your favourite recipes and I’ll try some out.

Green Veggies 

Leave a Reply

