Vegan

The Smoothie List

Right, I’m well aware that if you can stick some fruit in a blender and press the “on” button, you don’t really need me to tell you how to make a smoothie. However what you might find handy is a list of what goes well together and what tastes absolutely minging! So I’m going to do that. I’ve got right into a smoothie or two since starting the foray into veganism, it’s a great way to get some of your 5 a day (or is it supposed to be 10? Who knows, they’ll probably never be happy until we are half broccoli half human!). I’m also aware that whizzing up some fruit magically turns it into 700% of your daily sugar allowance. I’m not entirely sure how that works I just know when I was doing Slimming World I could eat strawberries til they were coming out of my ears but if I mashed them up with anything other than my teeth then I was committing some sort of massive weight loss sin! Something to do with making it easier to consume vast quantities but anyway, be sensible and if you’re following a weight loss plan check what they say about deconstructing your fruit before consumption. 

Anyway… the purpose of this isn’t to question when is a strawberry a not a strawberry, but a weight loss saboteur – it’s to let you know, through the medium of my tastebuds, whether spinach really works in a smoothies, or if you’re better off making glorified milkshakes and kidding on their healthy because you made them yourself! 

I particularly like a breakfast smoothie, and my favourite sort of non-dairy milk to use for one is unsweetened coconut milk but I’ll be mixing it up and trying a selection. 

Raspberry, banana and coconut milk smoothie
1. Raspberry, banana and coconut milk (above) – two bananas, a punnet of raspberries and enough coconut milk to cover then blend! I don’t mind the raspberry seeds left in but if your not keen squish them through a sieve and use the de-seeded mush. This makes enough for me and my 8 yr old to have a very generous portion each, would stretch to three. Cut down the amounts if it’s just for you! 4/5 would try again! 

2. Strawberry, cucumber and coconut milk – the strawberries I used when I tried this weren’t the ripest so it was a bit tart however it made it quite refreshing, especially with the addition of cucumber which is becoming one of my favourite smoothie ingredients! This was just a punnet of strawbs, half a cucumber and enough coconut milk to cover them whizzed up. Eldest son enjoyed it, daughter (8) most definitely did not. I found it refreshing but could do with being a touch sweeter. 2/5, might make it again if I only had that particular combination of ingredients and reaaaally wanted a smoothie! 


3. Peanut butter, chocolate, banana, soya milk and chia seed smoothie (above) – okay this is maybe technically more of a milkshake than a smoothie but it’s flicking delicious and it has banana in it it! Two bananas, a generous tbsp of peanut butter, level tbsp of cocoa powder, tsp of chia seeds and enough soya milk to cover then blend. Very decandent! Enough for me and 8 yr old to have a generous serving each and would stretch to 3 easily. Both of us really enjoyed it, 4/5

Leave a Reply

